Ports of Entry: Sisseton 605.698.3925 | Sioux Falls 605.757.6406 | Jefferson 605.356.0124 | Tilford 605.347.2671

South Dakota Truck Information


South Dakota Logo






..... to the South Dakota Truckers' Information website. This site provides a "One-Stop-Shop" for your South Dakota trucking needs.


South Dakota Covered Farm Vehicle Designation

In order to use the exemptions, the vehicle must be equipped with a farm sticker on your license plate (which can be obtained for free at your local County Treasurer's office). 

Or you can click here to complete the SD Covered Farm Vehicle Designation form.  The form must be printed, signed, and kept in the power unit.




FMSCA Establishes National Training Standards For New Truck and Bus Drivers

The U.S. Department of Transportation's Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration (FMCSA) has announced a Final Rule establishing comprehensive national minimum training standards for entry-level commercial truck and bus operators seeking to obtain a commercial driver's license (CDL) or certain endorsements.

FMCSA Final Rule For Electronic Logging Devices (ELDs)

On December 16, 2015, the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration (FMCSA) published its final rule requiring Electronic Logging Devices (ELDs) to replace paper logbooks. The compliance date to have an ELD installed is December 18, 2017.  For drivers and motor carriers who are currently using Automatic Onboard Recorders, (AOBRDs), they will be allowed an additional 2 years to come into compliance - until December 18, 2019.  Click here for more information.






  The Unified Carrier Registration (UCR) Board of Directors is delaying the start of the 2019 registration until further notice.


UCR Launches New National Registration System




Motor Vehicle Division Offering Trucking Industry Assistance in Sioux Falls

The South Dakota Department of Revenue has opened a motor carrier services branch in Sioux Falls, South Dakota.  The branch will provide assistance to the trucking industry on International Fuel Tax Agreement (IFTA), International Registration Plan (IRP), Unified Registration Plan (UCR), and Heavy Vehicle Use Tax (HVUT).


National Registry image

Currently all interstate commercial motor vehicle (CMV) drivers are required to have a valid medical certificate signed by a healthcare provider. The only change created by the implementation of the National Registry of Certified Medical Examiners is that, within 2 years of the rule's effective date, all CMV drivers must be examined by a ME who is listed on the National Registry.

The National Registry of Certified Medical Examiners (National Registry) is a new Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration (FMCSA) program that requires all medical examiners (MEs) who wish to perform physical examinations for interstate commercial motor vehicle (CMV) drivers to be trained and certified in FMCSA physical qualification standards. Medical examiners who have completed the training and successfully passed the test are included in an online directory on the National Registry website.


"How heavy is too heavy for South Dakota roads?"

Watch the video - click here.

Title VI Program Notice to FMSCA Beneficaries

FMCSR Informational Brochures (all links below are to Adobe .pdf files)